Morgan County Courthouse - West Liberty, Ky.

Morgan County Courthouse - West Liberty, Ky.
(Photo: Nate Kissel)
Morgan County has long been known as "the Bluegrass County of Eastern Kentucky," due to its lush mountain valleys which are suitable for agricultural use. Others have described the county’s location as being where the “coal fields meet the outer Bluegrass.” The county seat, West Liberty, is so named because at the time of its incorporation, Pikeville (which lies to the East) was to be named Liberty. The town that is now Liberty, Ky. is in Casey County, in the south-central portion of the Commonwealth.

This courthouse is quite beautiful. It sits in the center of town and was built in 1907. It is the fourth courthouse on this site and is on the National Historic Register.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails