What's In a Name? History.
Least among them, Shakespeare and Co. opened in the old Clark Hardware Store last weekend. The "Victorian chic" restaurant reaches to circa 1600 with its name beckoning on of (if not the) greatest authors of the English language.
Local names, too, haven't been ignored.
Nick Ryan's Saloon on Jefferson Street adopted the same name as the saloon on North Mill Street circa 1905. It was then, in fact, a man named Nick Ryan who owned and operated his bar at what is now 120 North Mill Street.
More famously, the Jefferson Davis Inn was originally located at West High and Limestone where the Confederate President lived while attending Transylvania University. A popular pub until it closed in 1984, the JDI is being reborn again on South Broadway in a mixed use development between Cedar and Pine Streets.
And then there is Lexington's most notable resident: Henry Clay. Clay owned the building on Jordan's Row from which he practiced law across from the courthouse at an address which is now 110-112 North Upper Street. (This isn't to be confused with the other existing Clay law office on North Mill Street.). There, work is finishing up on Henry Clay's Public House which bills itself as an "old world style pub" where service will include " a blend of todays and yesteryears classic cocktails, potations, and concoctions for the discerning bibulous patron, combined with a dash of american culture, historical heritage, and humorous anecdotes."
Historical heritage is alive in Lexington and it is plainly evident in the naming of our new establishments.